Posted by: Neal Schaffer | June 18, 2009

LinkedIn Branding Tips: Should I Indicate on My LinkedIn Profile Status Update That I am Unemployed?

Before I event start answering this question, I will tell you that I am going out on a limb on this one.  I am going against what a lot of people are actually doing.  You may think that I am crazy or just wrong, but my intention is only to help those that are unemployed with the best advice possible.  You can take my advice or leave it.  I welcome all opinions, but I do hope you will continue reading to the very end of this blog post to better understand me.

This question came recently from a LinkedIn/Twitter friend, and it is actually something that I almost put in my post of Favorite LinkedIn Pet Peeves yesterday.  It is also related to my previous post on What Do You Use Your LinkedIn Profile Status Bar For?.  In essence, should I tell the world that I am looking for a job in my Profile Status box?

You will be able to read about my thought process in my upcoming LinkedIn book, which is nearing completion as we speak.  But as a preview of what I plan to discuss in that book, you need to remember that everything that you do and do not include in your LinkedIn profile becomes your brand = how people perceive you.  Is “unemployed” something that you want to include as part of your brand?  My answer is “NO!”  You want positive qualities associated with your brand.  And whenever I see someone with a Status Update that says they are looking for a job, I want to tell them what I am about to tell you.

Now, I am not suggesting that you lie about your status.  Obviously you want to tell your network, and if asked by a recruiter, that you are unemployed.  But what I am saying is that the Status Update should be utilized differently in order to promote your brand.

For just a moment, let’s pretend that we are recruiters looking at LinkedIn profiles.  Now, I am not nor have ever been a recruiter, but I have engaged with enough recruiters that I have a faint idea of how they work.

First of all, do you know how recruiters find you on LinkedIn?  They search for you, of course, and if they are using LinkedIn recruiting solutions they are looking at a screen that looks something like this.  The key to being found?  List as many companies as you can that you have worked for with accurate titles in your profile.  And include those keywords that you want to be associated with in your profile.  Simple enough.

But what happens after they search and find you and start looking at your profile?  Recruiters want to see that you are happily employed.  Why?  Because, in a recent LinkedIn Poll, 60% of Recruiters said that passive candidates are better employees.  And, furthermore, quoting from this same LinkedIn Blog post, “It’s a widely held belief that the best talent is employed,” and “if they are actively looking then maybe they are not as good, or not as loyal.

I can tell you from the talent that I meet while networking that the above statements are absolutely and totally false.  If you are talented and happen to be unemployed, the above types of comments obviously hurt and fill your heart with anger.  There are so many reasons why someone loses their position or chooses to be unemployed.  How can you lump all of these people together into one category of people and say they “are not as good?”  It’s ridiculous.  And it is discriminatory towards those that deserve better treatment.

Now, the above blog post was not the opinion of LinkedIn; it was merely the results of a LinkedIn Poll.  So do not direct your anger at LinkedIn.  In fact, we should be thanking LinkedIn, because they have provided us a service by telling those who are unemployed what they need to know: DO NOT ADVERTISE THE FACT THAT YOU ARE UNEMPLOYED. We cannot change the way that recruiters think about us.  We can only play up to their expectations.

If you are unemployed, I understand the temptation to put that you are unemployed on your Status Update.  But, just as you can easily waste your time sending out applications to positions that are hiring on the Internet and compete with the several hundred other applicants who saw the same advertisement, letting the world know that you are unemployed by broadcasting that fact in your Status Update is only diluting your brand and making you look like an active, not a passive, candidate.  It is potentially lowering your value in the eyes of 60% of those recruiters in that poll.

What to do then?  If you want to tell your friends and close connections that you are unemployed, do so over the phone or in person.  Don’t use Social Media to broadcast it to 40 million other people.

Now, there may be people out there that have found a job by broadcasting the fact that they are unemployed just like there are always rare people who do find jobs on the Internet.  But, in my opinion, based on the above evidence, it is always best to preserve your LinkedIn Brand and get out and meet new people to network with that may directly or indirectly lead you to your next lead in your job hunt.  In fact, regardless of your employment status, you should always be networking and meeting people: dig your well before you are thirsty.

I rest my case.  Feel free, as always, to comment.


Responses

  1. […] R­e­ad t­h­e­ o­r­iginal h­e­r­e­:  Linked­In Bra­nd­ing Tip­s­: S­h­ould­ I Ind­ica­t… […]

  2. Perfect! Great advice.

    I’m a new user when it comes to the LinkedIn bar, so this is really good to know.

    Thanks,

    Diana

  3. Hey Diana, I was holding my breath until I saw your comment 😉 Thanks for the validation!
    – Neal

  4. I disagree. In today’s economy a recruiter will have better luck getting an unemployed person to take a job rather than try to move someone who is happily employed. It’s a scary time out there right now and to take a new job that “may or may not” work out…is not worth the risk.

    I have trained 100’s of people in my Project Link It Forward workshops to tell people and the social media it’s ok to say you are unemployed. You need to also be honest about on your profile.

    I don’t recommend broadcasting it on status updates, there I do agree with you:)

    Final note..I get a lot of folks who message mew with job opps and I scour my database and anyone with a job, I pass over immediately.

    Lisa Hendrickson
    http://www.linkedin.com/in/callthatgirl

  5. Hey Lisa,

    I also disagree with the recruiters state of mind as indicated by that poll.

    I also agree with you that you absolutely have to be honest with your employment status. But there is no reason why you need to broadcast it in the wrong media. I am only looking at broadcasting it in your status update…obviously you should be informing everyone in your network as well as potential employers that you are unemployed.

    Hope the clarifications make sense 😉

    – Neal

  6. Sure does. People must also remember to always remember that the HR folks doing direct hiring are surfing profiles.

    Keep recommendations to 2-4 at each job, don’t look too hungry.

    I’ve seen some horrible profiles btw. Just sayin’ LOL

  7. I hear ‘ya Lisa. As for the number of recommendations per position, well, we could debate on that, but either way it does become part of your brand, for hopefully better but also potentially worse…

  8. […] Se­e­ t­h­e­ re­st­ h­e­re­: L­in­ked­In­ Br­an­d­in­g T­ips: Sh­o­ul&#173… […]

  9. Wow- what great advice and what great comments. As someone in transition who is trying to use my LinkedIn profile to greatest advantage, I really appreciate these differing perspectives.

    Neal- have you already written about what to do with the “current” portion of the profile if one is “between opportunities”…?

    Really great stuff- Keep it comin!

    Norman Naylor
    Huntington Beach, CA

  10. Hi Norman,

    Great to see you here and thanks for the comment! I am glad that you appreciate the different perspective…sometimes I do go “against the grain” but I do try to provide evidence of why I say what I say.

    As for your question of what to do with the “current” position when you are between opportunities, that is a topic for a whole other blog post 😉

    Hope to see you at our So Cal Sushi lunch on June 26!

    – Neal

  11. While I don’t believe it’s necessary to specifically state that you are unemployed in your profile, I also think it’s important to avoid even the perception that you’re trying to mislead.

    To me, the “Current” slot is for a job that you CURRENTLY hold, not the last position you held. To leave a position that you no longer hold in the “Current” slot on a LinkedIn profile, just to avoid “broadcasting” that you are unemployed, is just plain misleading.

  12. Hi Rebecca,

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting! My blog post was centered around the “Status Update” bar, which I believe should be used to brand yourself in a positive way. If you are unemployed, it is natural that this will come out in your profile or when asked by a recruiter, but I believe that there is no need to go out of your way and “broadcast” this through your Status Update which could show up on the “Network Updates” page of all of your connections as well as anyone else who is reading your profile.

    As for the “Current” position on your profile, it remains that way until you manually put in your last date of your previous place of employment. For many people, traditionally, this happens when they update their LinkedIn profiles upon starting a new job. I don’t know of many people who, after having their position eliminated or leaving their job, are going to go back and update their LinkedIn Profile on that same day. There will always be a time lag, and the timing of when people do this is a personal matter and is purely up to them. I can offer no advice here, but you bring up a great point that some people may find this misleading. The funny thing is that many people sign up for social networks where they may not have updated their information for several months. I find this all the time, but if I was a Hiring Manager I would expect them to truthfully tell me what their current situation is.

    And that is what is important: when asked by a recruiter or a company, that they are not lying about their employment status. A LinkedIn profile is one thing; an official application for employment is another.

  13. Back in 2006, a recruiter called me up at work and said: “Mr. Burda, we have a great job for you…” to which my immediate reply was “Thanks, but I am not looking for a job…” and without hesitation and with excitement, the recruiter said, “Perfect, we are looking for people who are not looking for a job!!”

    🙂

    What does this tell you?

    – Steven Burda
    http://whywebpr.com/burda

  14. There you go Steven! Exactly my point!

  15. I think this article’s key point is about using LI to create your own New Brand.

    Bob Goldman had a piece “The brand new brand you” talked about how to make yourself stand out from a crowd of job searchers. … the secret for creating your brand is to “discover your passion” and “put it together with your experience.”
    IMHO, Neal has successfully created his Brand just like that.

    http://funnybusiness.com/2009_03_01_archive.html

    As for the “It’s a widely held belief that the best talent is employed,”. I think it’s not only the perception of recruiter, but also the perception of employer. When we interview candidates, most of the time we pick the one from our competitor.
    Of cause, like Lisa H. said this is not an ordinary time, the perception can be adjusted.

    my 2c
    //Shiyun

    PS. hope this topic still active; Today’s SoCal Sushi geathering reminds me to check these blog.

  16. Hi Shiyun,

    Yes, this is still a very active topic! Thank you for your input. I think after your meeting me today and my explaining to you in person, you could better understand that my only intent here was to have LinkedIn users starting to look at their profile as part of their brand. I am glad you understood my message!

    Looking forward to your future comments and getting together again soon!

    – Neal

  17. […] A quick tip today: Don’t display in your LinkedIn status that you’re unemployed. Read more in this great article by Neal Schaffer. […]


Leave a comment

Categories