Posted by: Neal Schaffer | March 16, 2009

Will LinkedIn Help Me Find a Job?

I have been blogging about LinkedIn for several months now, and I just couldn’t help but notice the increased attention there is about LinkedIn in the media.  In essence, all of the media are saying that you need to be on LinkedIn to find a job.  Is this really the case?

I will be honest with you that I found my last job through The Ladders despite five busy months of ramping up on LinkedIn.  LinkedIn itself is merely a database.  You signed up for it, so what?  Did you fill out your profile?  Invite people?  Join groups?  Did you actively network?

You see, LinkedIn is merely a tool in your arsenal to assist you in finding a job and nothing more.  After all, LinkedIn isn’t hiring you, but companies and recruiters are.  And companies and recruiters also have their own web sites.  And they advertise on other sites.  Some are starting to Twitter.  So LinkedIn is not the only game in town.

That being said, if you understand that most jobs are found through the “Hidden Job Market” (read “What Color is Your Parachute” if you don’t understand this), then the key to finding your job is, simply, networking.  And if you don’t understand networking, you are not alone.  Most people that I meet at networking events or through LinkedIn communications still are a little lost.  But, in reality, networking is simple: connecting and communicating with people.

Now, when I say connecting, you don’t necessarily have to make them your 1st degree connection.  But you need to reach out and communicate.  And I don’t just mean with recruiters.  Use LinkedIn to get back in touch with old colleagues and classmates, join groups, find people with similar interests, etc.  The key to networking is to be in contact with like-minded individuals with whom you can hopefully create a genuine relationship out of.  If they don’t live near you pick up the phone and call them!  I have made many a friend through “virtually” meeting them.

And that is what LinkedIn is all about: an immense database of professionals like you, and many of them open to networking and helping you out.  There is still a lot of bad press about open networkers like myself, but I am always amazed about how other open networkers are willing to help out despite not knowing each other.

Cross the virtual divide.  Reach out.  Exploit LinkedIn for what it is and start networking!  Only then can you say that LinkedIn may have helped out your find your next job.


Responses

  1. I am facinated by your postings on Fake Linked profiles. I realize now, a couple years ago, when you first begin using the site you are prone to accept invitations without scrutinizing. Then by “Accepting” you have exposed your whole trusted network plus all future connections you add.

    Then they follow you to Twitter, then they Follow who you follow. I know b/c I have used this practice legitimately.

    What is best way to “Listen” to Twitter trends from BlackBerry? Co Buzz is not supported, TwitterBerry has no Search.

    It is an eery and compelling issue and I also would appreciate LinkedIn Publicly addressing the issue. There are far more possible uses for fake profiles than creating marketing databases; online dating comes to mind… Have had experience that spilled across sites.

    Thanks,

    Monique Willoughby CPA

  2. Thanks for the insight Neal. I consider LinkedIn one of the top three social networking tools out there (twitter and facebook being the other two). What are your thoughts on LinkedIn’s job search functionality? I sometimes feel that this feature is not being utilized within the network. Your thoughts?

  3. Hi Monique,

    Thank you for your comments. I agree that LinkedIn should work harder to police these fake profiles, especially because it really does potentially harm the professional networking environment.

    As far as listening to Twitter trends from Blackberry, that I can’t help you with. But the Company Buzz application on LinkedIn should provide you the ability to do this.

  4. Hi Frank,

    I agree that those sites are the Golden Three of Social Networking right now. I think LinkedIn’s job search functionality is great. In addition to your resume, your entire branding of your profile, complete with recommendations, gets sent over to the recruiter. Pretty powerful. I think that people looking for jobs should be utilizing it more, but LinkedIn really should add search alerts for jobs posted there. It is a hassle to have to do the same manual job search each time…

  5. Neal,

    I am not sure that LinkedIn is only for finding jobs. I for one use it to network – connect with business associates and colleagues. It acts as a free branding tool. I don’t see it as a jobsite (and I hope it does not become one…). It can however, help you build relationships which may lead to new opportunities.

    Nikhil

  6. Hi Nikhil,

    That is exactly the point of my post!

    – Neal


Leave a comment

Categories